Wk 4 – Activity – Plaster Casting

This week’s activity was Plaster Casting. I have never worked with plaster before so I was really excited for IMG_3941this project. I wanted to make suIMG_3939 (1)re that I did the casting correctly so I went to Seal Beach (forced my little brother to go with me) on Saturday at 10 a.m. with Glenn and several other students. I expected the entire process to be tedious and annoying, but it was actually really cool! At first, I dug a really deep hole and it was hard because my arms are short so I had to put some sand back in so that I wouldn’t have to lay down with my hand in the sand because that’s weird and uncomfortable. Lol. I didn’t think the plaster settled as quickly as it did so my little brother and I had to rush to pour it into my mold. I was really worried that my fingers would break when removing the sand but instead of waiting for the plaster to set for thirty minutes, I waited an extra 15 minutes to be on the safe side. My fingers came out really small and chunky because too much plaster settled at the bottom but I am still happy about my final product. I was thinking about painting my cast mold with different shades of pink and purple (my favorite colors) but I really like how the sand looks on the mold. I might use a sharpie and create a sort of henna tattoo but I’m not quite sure yet. This was a very easy process and I would definitely try it again some day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

