Wk 8 – Activity – ePortfolio

IMG_4633.JPG

I am a Biology major. I came in as undeclared student who had no idea what career I wanted to pursue. I had several majors in mind such as Art (ceramics), Social Work, Business, Photography, Interior Design, etc., but I have decided on Biology. I remember mentioning to my counselor that I was interested in Forensics and he suggested/recommended that my best bet would be to major in Biology. I feel as though others feel intimidated by Biology majors because who liked Biology in their freshman year of high school? I know that it wasn’t one of my favorites. But in my senior year, after watching several seasons and episode after episode of Criminal Minds, as soon as I saw Forensic Science as an option on my spring semester schedule, I did not think twice about taking that course. After completely falling in love with Criminals Minds, Mrs. Foss, my Forensics teacher, introduced me to the show CSI (Crime Scene Investigation) and I absolutely loved it. So I am currently working on my Bachelor’s of Science in Biology and I would like to get my Master’s in Forensic Science at the University of Southern California.

IMG_4632-0.PNG

During class, we did several activities where Mrs. Foss gave us several different scenarios and we had to put all the clues together and the chain of events and figure out the murderer, the cause of the death, identifying fingerprints, and from what angles blood spatter came from, etc. Similar to the picture above, Mrs. Foss also set up her own crime scene in the classroom before class started and had her students identify different variables or chain of events that could have perhaps led to the death of the “mannequin” in this case. It was really exciting because every students cause of death was completely different. Although it sort of looked like someone committed homocide, some students were able to identify why it could have also been a suicide. It’s very interesting to note that a crime scene can have various perceptions that can all be true. Our thought processes and critical thinking skills come into play when investigating all aspects of a crime scene.

Although my courses are challenging at the moment, I know that this is what I really want to pursue so I will do everything in my power to be successful in this field. The suspense, the rush of emotions, the work, the connections made with the victims, etc., intrigue me and I am ready to move forward!

Leave a Reply

