Wk 10 – Student Interview – Salina Chavez

This week I had the opportunity to meet Salina Chavez! She is a third year Child Development major and is also minoring in FullSizeRenderRecreation. She is currently a YMCA program leader and assistant director, which I think is pretty cool! She loves working with children. She mentioned volunteering for the boys and girls club, coaching/playing soccer throughout high school. She has been playing soccer for 15 years! I also used to play soccer but my schedule has gotten so busy that I hardly ever have anytime to do anything really. She also mentioned working here at CSULB in the Day Care. I told her that I was also planning of applying when I heard that they were hiring because I also love children! But then I thought about it – busy stressful week + children doesn’t really make a great combination. Salina lives locally as do I. She dormed here at CSULB her first year of college. She mentioned being in the honor roll throughout high school and her parents gave her the option of either dorming or getting her car but since she was such a great student, it was a win-win situation because she ended up dorming and getting her car, which is awesome! I’ve always wanted to dorm to gain that dorm experience but I don’t like the idea of being in debt when I literally live 2-3 miles away….. When I pursue my Master’s degree, the chances of me dorming are high so hopefully in the future! Overall, it was nice meeting Salina because we hit it off great from the start 🙂 For more, her URL is http://salinachavez2110.com/

Leave a Reply

